ASEAN Summit

The ASEAN Summit is a meeting of the leaders of the member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). ASEAN is a regional organization comprising ten countries in Southeast Asia, including Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The summit provides an opportunity for leaders to discuss and address issues related to political, economic, and social cooperation among member states. These issues may include regional security, trade and investment, environmental concerns, and cultural exchange.

The ASEAN Summit is held annually and is chaired by the country holding the ASEAN Chairmanship for that year. The summit also includes other related meetings, such as the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting, which brings together foreign ministers from the member countries, and the ASEAN Regional Forum, which includes dialogue partners from outside the region.

The ASEAN Summit plays an important role in promoting regional integration and cooperation among member countries, as well as strengthening relationships with ASEAN's dialogue partners.

History Of ASEAN Summit

The ASEAN Summit has its roots in the formation of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) on August 8, 1967, in Bangkok, Thailand. The founding members of ASEAN were Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.

The initial aim of ASEAN was to promote economic cooperation among its member states, and over the years, its scope has expanded to include political, security, and socio-cultural issues. The first ASEAN Summit was held in Bali, Indonesia, in 1976, and since then, the summit has been held annually, with the host country rotating among the member states.

Over the years, the ASEAN Summit has tackled various issues, including regional security, economic integration, climate change, disaster management, and counterterrorism. It has also provided a platform for ASEAN to engage with its dialogue partners, such as China, Japan, South Korea, India, the United States, and the European Union.

In recent years, the ASEAN Summit has become increasingly important, as ASEAN plays a central role in promoting regional stability and economic growth. It has also been instrumental in shaping the geopolitical landscape of the Asia-Pacific region.

ASEAN Summit Agendas

Indonesia has been lined up to hold the Chair of ASEAN five times, with the theme "ASEAN Matters: Epicentrum of Growth" which means that Indonesia wants to make ASEAN remain important and relevant to the ASEAN community and the world. This is because, Indonesia wants to make ASEAN a region that has a role important, for regional countries and the world. Both play a central role as the engine of regional peace and prosperity. In addition, Indonesia also wants to make ASEAN a center for regional and world economic growth.

To make this happen, 3 Pillars of Priorities Economic Deliverables have been developed, namely:

  1. Recover-Rebuilding
  2. ASEAN aims to explore a well-calibrated, planned and communicated Policy Mix to ensure economic recovery and growth, as well as mitigate risks such as inflation and capital flow volatility.

  3. DigitalEconomy
  4. To strengthen financial inclusion and digital literacy, ASEAN member countries need to increase their respective capacities in formulating national financial education strategies and increasing the interconnectivity of regional payment systems.

  5. Sustainability
  6. As the region most affected by natural disasters and climate-related risks, ASEAN needs to close ranks to prepare and aim for the same goals in terms of the transition to a green economy, including through the preparation of the ASEAN Taxonomy on Sustainable Finance and a Study on the Role of Central Banks in Managing Climate and Environment-Related Risk.

This year, the ASEAN SUMMIT Summit will be held in Labuan Bajo, West Manggarai Regency, NTT Province, from May 9 to May 11.